skip navigation

Alaska All Star Team Bantam

A team of 14 and 15 year old Alaskans were the first Alaskan team to ever win a National Hockey Championship.  At the National Tournament in Manchester, New Hampshire April 6-8, 1990 they bested some of the big names in Minor Youth Hockey.  The team finished the tournament with a perfect 5 and 0 record.  They beat the Chicago Young Americans 4-1 in the opening game, and went on to defeat the New Jersey team 6-0, Camp Cod Massachusetts 8-2, in the semi-finals they came from behind to overcome a 3-1 deficit to beat Wheatfield of New York by a score of 4-3.  In their final game the Alaska All Stars played Little Caesars and they claimed the National Title by defeating Little Caesars by a score of 4-0.

Inducted April 2018

Team Members

Todd Bethard

Brandon Carlson

Mike McGuire

Sean Bowman

Aaron Young

Seth Burris

Ben Crittenden

Travis Armstrong

Maurice Hall

Jesse Richardson

Zak Coleman

Chris Marvel

David Vallieres

Kyle McDonald

Ray Friesen

Jarrett Zuspan

Kirby Senden

Johnico Blumer

Coaches:  Dennis Sorenson & Ken Ross

Team Manager:  Kathie Bethard